Recent Posts

New Albany, Union County School districts celebrate School Board Recognition Week

2018 School Board recognition 2018 School Board Member Recognition Week

The New Albany & Union County School Districts will join districts across the state to thank school board members during School Board Member Recognition Week, February 11-17, for their leadership and service to local school districts and communities.

“This week is a special opportunity to express our gratitude for the hard work of our school board members and to thank them for their dedication to this community and its children,” said Ken Basil, Superintendent of Union County Schools.

2018 Union County School Board

Union County School Board 2018: Front row l-r: Windy Faulkner, Ken Basil, Daphnia McMillen; back row l-r: Terry Cook, Mickey Basil, Mike Browning, & Wayne Mahon.

More than 750 Mississippians are members of local school boards. The board members who serve are responsible for setting the vision and goals for the district. They work to provide a quality education for students in grades K-12 and oversee the district’s annual budget.

The school board also hires quality educators, sets district goals, adopts policies, and evaluates progress while keeping the interest of our students first. They also serve as the community’s voice in the school district and the district’s voice in the community.

“As school leaders, board members play an important role in engaging our community in supporting our public schools,” said Lance Evans, Superintendent of New Albany Schools.

2018 New Albany School Board

2018 New Albany School Board: Front row l-r: David Rainey, Brad Clayton, Sam Creekmore; back row l-r: Jill Shaw and Penny Blissett

During School board Member Recognition Week in Mississippi, the New Albany and Union County School Districts invite students, staff, and community members to take part in honoring board members.

The men and women serving the New Albany School District are: Penny Blissett, Jill Shaw, Brad Clayton, Sam Creekmore, and David Rainey.
Those serving the Union County School District are: Terry Cook, Mickey Basil, Mike Browning, Wayne Mahon, and Daphnia McMillen.

Melanie Shannon
Public Relations
New Albany Schools


%d bloggers like this: